DDR and CPU clock speed.

Lohr

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2002
I'm new to DDR ram but a seasoned computer geek.

I have a brand new Giga-byte GA-7VRXP KT333 Motherboard and i just installed my Corsair CMX512-2700C2 ram. I have yet to upgrade my processor (ran outta money :D). I'm still using my old thunderbird 1ghz that only runs at 100mhz FSB.

Here is my question:
Does the mhz of the DDR ram have to run at exactly 2 times the FSB of the CPU?

I set my RAM to run at 333mhz and my FSB at 100mhz. Windows XP blue screened on install. The only way i can get it to install is by setting my DDR ram to run at 200mhz, coincidentally, 2 times my FSB.

what i'm wondering is if this logic is correct, and i'm not doing anything wrong, and my hardware is working properly, then what the heck is the point of 333mhz DDR if the highest any AMD processor will run at is 133mhz FSB (making the DDR run at 266mhz).

Basically what i'm asking is - it seems to me that the DDR will only run at the FSBx2. am i wrong?

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Nah, it's a problem with your system, either the board, memory, or power supply, not living up to it's DDR333 rating.

<font color=blue>By now you're probably wishing you had asked more questions first!</font color=blue>

Lohr

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2002
i did some more research and came up with very little. however i did find a small tidbit on a respected website that mentioned synchronus and asynchronus RAM. It said tha some RAM is capable of running at a different frequency than the FSB and some is not.

MY old motherboard was a KT133 with PC133 ram in it. the processor was my old thunderbird 1ghz. The FSB was set for 100hmz and the RAM was set at 133mhz. it had a setting in the bios that allowed you to change it between synchronus and asynchronus.

so maybe my RAM jsut isnt capable of running asynchronus. it makes sense to me.