Window 8 messed up my core cpu readout

don't know if someone got the same problem that i have. Installed window 8 consumer preview. everything works fine. Under task manager, it shows up i have an 8 cores processor. Core i7 920, 1st generation doesn't have 8 core. Cpuz readout also messed up. telling me I'm running at 21 multiplier, even though the speed step had been turned off. I tried to update bios, and install window 7 back into a brand new SSD drive. after installation, I've the same problem, window 7 under task manager, it tells me i've an 8 core processor. Weird thing I ever encountered. please help.
5 answers Last reply
More about window messed core readout
  1. Not sure why it's reading the 21 multiplier... check the BIOS and make sure it's reading the same thing. You have 8 logical cores in that chip though, unless you turned off Hyper Threading. That part is reading correctly.
  2. Thx for replying. I'm a newbie, I don't know if you can post pic in here. I will let you see what's wrong with it. Under task manager right side where it stated "CPU Usage History" it suppose to be 4 threads. Now after installation of window 8, I got 8 of them. It's weird, even Everest posted 4 core, 8 threads running @ 2.67ghz. On core temp, real temp, and HWmonitor posted 4 core.

After I install window 7 back with a clean hard drive, my computer crashed. Got a brand new ssd installed window 7 again. Under task manager it still say i've 8 of them.

This computer had been OCing to 4.1ghz since 2009. I turned off the OC feature went window 7 crashed. Now the window 7 is stable and bios up-to-date, OC doesn't work anymore. Every time I run prime 95 it freezes, and I have to go back into the bios to pump up the cpu, and QPI voltage 3 times and it still fail. On the ocing part, I didn't change anything. I used the same setting that was stabled for the past 3 years.