Does split IDE Cables affect system performance?

LancerEvolution7

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2002
I recently built a new computer. I found that the ide cables were very cluttersome. So I took a xacto knife and split the IDE cables(between the wires of course) into sections and taped them into round type cables using masking tape. Call me cheap if you will, but I really didn't feel like spending $10 on round ide cables. Anyways, will that affect harddrive performance?

lhgpoobaa

Illustrious
Dec 31, 2007
ahhh... nothing like good old fashioned ghetto cable mod's :smile:

if you did it carefully, without cutting or exposing any wires then yes, it should work perfectly well, as thats basically what rounded cables are. hoever even if you just nic a wire then you can get corruption problems, that sometimes are extreemly difficult to detect.

something to bear in mind.

<b>Before visiting THG i was a clueless noob. Now im still clueless, but look at my nice title!<b>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Right, as long as the insulation is intact, it's OK, early round cables were made that way.

<font color=blue>You're posting in a forum with class. It may be third class, but it's still class!</font color=blue>

HammerBot

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002