phill21

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2001
i have just bought a seagate cheetah 18.2gig scsi hard drive and a Advansys adaptor card from ebay, for which i have paid £70 for the two items.
now i believed that scsi was a lot faster than ide, but i was proved wrong..
when i benchmarked the drive, the score for the drive was 15,000 in sandra 2002 for the scsi and 30,000 for the ide ibm ide drive i have.
the scsi drive spins at 10k, is a 50pin drive (if that makes any difference) and is getting rather red hot too..
firstly, is this drive connected and setup correctly? and if so, why is it half the performance of a ata 100 7200rpm ide drive?
im new to scsi drives and it has seemed to have 'gone in' perfectly and easy.. the only thing im not sure about is the termination side of things..
as far as i know, im not sure whether or not i need to have it terminated or not, or whether its self terminating.
please could someone help me, as this is the first scsi drive i have had, and so far not that impressed with its performance.
thanks for any help guys and gals..

if all else fails... kick it and if it goes wrong, say it wasnt you...

phill21

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2001
just found some more information about the card / hard drive etc..
the model on the card says Advansys ABP-940/70UW68
the model of the hard drive is seagate cheetah st118202lc..

if anyone can enlighten me, i would be most appreaited..
thank you all

Ncogneto

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
For one you are comparing a new generation Ide drive to a Scsi drive that is several generations old...hardly apples to apples. Just because it is SCSI in and of itself does not make it faster.

It's not what they tell you, its what they don't tell you!

phill21

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2001
im having problems with my drive now..
i have low level formatted the drive and when i come to fdisk the drive, it comes up with no space to create a dos partition.. why is this happening?