Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How do I know if I have power over Ethernet?

Last response: in Networking
September 26, 2012 5:36:00 PM

I work in IT and I'm trying to install a network camera for a client which requires power over Ethernet. How do I verify that there is not PoE available, or whether the camera is defective? (I'm pretty sure that there is no PoE; I just want to be able to prove it.)

More about : power ethernet

Anonymous
September 26, 2012 6:01:05 PM

Get the model number of the switch, look at the specs on the manufacturers website.
m
l
September 26, 2012 6:04:41 PM

What about plugging directly into the wall?
m
l
Related resources
September 26, 2012 6:53:47 PM

Paul22000 said:
What about plugging directly into the wall?

Plugging what directly into the wall? If your talking about plugging the camera into a network drop, all that means is the camera is not receiving power, either due to no PoE or due to bad cabling.
m
l
September 26, 2012 9:27:40 PM

sk1939 said:
Plugging what directly into the wall? If your talking about plugging the camera into a network drop, all that means is the camera is not receiving power, either due to no PoE or due to bad cabling.

Right, I want to literally *PROVE* that there is no PoE at my client's office building. Is there a way to perform this?
m
l

Best solution

September 26, 2012 11:31:45 PM

Paul22000 said:
Right, I want to literally *PROVE* that there is no PoE at my client's office building. Is there a way to perform this?

Not without a somewhat sophisticated test rig. There won't be any power on the line if certain conditions aren't met. Best bet is to identify the switch and look up the specs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet
September 27, 2012 12:01:34 PM