QubitOrNotQubit

Honorable
Sep 27, 2012
Hi everyone, my little business (software development/light web development) has expanded a bit and now I need to move from my house to a 'office' where me and 2 others are going to work. We need to setup a SOHO network for the new place and I would like to ask for some network setup advice since I have never done something like this before (we are computer guys, but we do a lot of scientific computing stuff... not much hands-on networking, I am afraid)

Ok, we are going to have a couple of workstations, laptops, a NAS (Synology?), printer, projector (for meeting/presentations) and a SOHO router.

The NAS is going to be used as storage/file server and to host our company website and mail server as well... We are 3 people so no much traffic for mail and the website has low traffic. I initially thought to have a proper server for web/mail hosting but the Synology is good enough for this, I think, and it offers much needed backup/storage functionality.
Right now, I am hosting externally, but I thought I might keep everything in-house ;)

We might need a small, dedicated database server (for development rather then accounting)

I would like to access the office network from 'outside' when I am working at the clients' place or from my home.

Sometimes, clients might come to the office (with their devices - laptops/phones) and I would like to offer them internet access (on an untrusted network?)

So my question is what is a good setup (what is connected to what) for this situation (keeping in mind that we might expand a little - extra servers/workstations)?

Any advice on hardware/software is welcome, budget is not that tight but still I'd prefer to keep it low(ish)

Thanks for your help!

-Mike

RealBeast

Titan
Personally, I would keep the email and website external to minimize security issues rather than putting it on the same NAS as your database. With your small volume it should be relatively inexpensive.