Need help setting up separate networks with VLAN

digityzed

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2006
I'm new at this stuff and very stumped. I have one WAP with multiple SSIDs that support VLAN ID (for a private and guest wireless network) and a managed switch that supports tag or port based VLAN ID. How do I set up the switch so that the networks are separate, but can still reach their own routers to get on the Internet?

Thanks in advance

P.S. - In case details are necessary, the WAP is a Cisco Aironet 1130AG and the switch is a Netgear FS750T2

Solution
I'm not an expert with VLANs really, but from what you are describing this is what I am gathering.

* On your switch, ports 1-45 should be untagged for the VLAN of your private network (remember, do not use VLAN1 for this ideally.)

* On your switch, port 47 should be untagged for the VLAN of your private network (this is where the traffic for that VLAN gets to its default gateway.)

*On your switch, port 48 should be untagged for the VLAN of your public network (again, this is where the traffic for that VLAN gets to its default gateway.)

*Port 46 of your switch needs to be TAGGED for both of the VLANs that you are passing along to the AP. Basically, think of a tagged network port as a trunk carrying ALL of the VLAN data for the...

ngrego

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2012
You would have to create a config for both AP and switch to allow access to each VLAN in a way that suites the use you have planned for them.
I don't want to spoil your plan or anything but a forum is the wrong place to get a solution to the problem you have. The best advise I can offer you is to go to the Cisco and Netgear sites and read up as much as you can on what you need to do.
Good Luck!

You are going to have to read the details in the manuals since how you do it varies greatly from vendor to vendor but in general.