JPWRana

Distinguished
May 2, 2002
ok guys... i'll cut to the point. I am definetely gona get a burner for my new system. I'm not a newbie in cd-rw's, but would like an opinion or criticism, or idea.

I don't know if i should get a 48x lite on, or wait that little extra bit and might as well get a dvd-rw. i heard sony is coming out w/ one that supports the dvd-rw and dvd+rw, along w/ -r and +r. Should i wait for that? Or should i wait for the blue ray dvd burners... how long until these blue ray dvd burners come out, because i do like the idea of fitting 30 gigs of anything on a dvd rather than a measly 4.7 gig. Will it be worth the wait? or should i just get the lite on 48x. Oh, and BTW, whats lite on gonna come out w/ now that it appears 48x is the max in cdrw's. Will they come out with a 52x burner? or switch now to dvdrw's?

All, alot, some, and any advice/criticism is welcome; as long as its instructive and useful.

The greatest risk of all is not taking one!

ejsmith2

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
Dude.

Just what the h3ll are you doing where 3.8gig/layer isn't enough storage space?

Now, I personally would like to load all 3 disks of mandrake, plus open office 1.1, plus all the plugins and winex stuff onto one dvd+r. That would be like, really convienient.

And blue light is at least a year off. Coupled with the fact that it will be really, really slow at first, and the media price will be outrageous. So, that 4x (4meg/sec) dvd burner will be serving you very well for at least the next 18 months, if not 24.

Liteon cd burners are the way to go right now, if you only have $70 to spend. They are fast, reliable, overclockable, and compatible with every burning program I've ever used.

P@ll4dium f0r L1f3!

JPWRana

Distinguished
May 2, 2002