Desktop never loads past the Taskbar

raman4434

Distinguished
May 4, 2012
Hello, I have recently started having trouble booting Windows 7 on my fairly new Gateway PC. When I power on the computer it loads up to the Windows Desktop and the task bar appears like it normally does, but the computer keeps loading as if the desktop icons would pop up in just a few seconds, except they never do. I've let it sit and load for hours and nothing comes up. I can't click on the start menu and the Ctrl+Alt+Del doesn't work so I have no choice but to do a hard reboot with the power button, which I hate since it can't be good for the PC. Sometimes it does this multiple times in a row, and sometimes it starts right up and loads like normal with everything working. Any help or advice would be appreciated, I am fairly new to PC's so I don't know too much aout what could cause this. I have ran complete scans in both safe mode and running regular Windows to no avail. I used Avast, Mcafee, and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware in both modes. I don't run any of them at the same time, however and I will disable one while I run the other. I've been working hard to keep this computer safe so I don't download anything suspicious and I use it mainly for gaming. If you need more information please just let me know. I'll list my system specs (or what I know of them) below.

Gateway DX4860-UR11P
Intel i7-2600 3.4Ghz
16GB DDR3 1600MHz Ram
2TB HDD
Nvidia GTX 580 3072MB
DVD-R/W
LG Blu-Ray BD-RW

Solution
Sounds like there's something trying to run at startup that's glitching out. You say in your post that you've scanned in Safe Mode, so obviously you can get there. Have you tried a clean startup? It takes a while to diagnose this route, as you're re-added one program at a time, but it's a good procedure:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796

At the risk of sounding like the outsourced help desk, a clean install might eventually be in the cards. It's not a bad idea to do those every few years.