timgroven

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2002
I am about to build myself a new system, and am considering doing a RAID 0. I've never done a RAID before, but am intrigued to see how much faster the system would go, and because I love building systems, and would like to have done a RAID at least once.

Is it any less reliable than running one HDD? Does it shorten the life span of the HDD? I don't want to do it if I'm going to have to constantly redo the system because of the RAID, but if everyone has had no problems, then I would love to.

Any comments would be appreciated!

Tim

Defective

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2002
With RAID 0 if you lose one hard drive you lose all the data because it is split between the two.

---------------

Stupidity should be painful.

timgroven

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2002
That's fine. I've only ever had one hard drive that I've partitioned anyway. Luckily I haven't had one go yet, but if it did, I would lose everything anyway. I do back up once a month though. :)

Other than that, there are no issues with RAID 0 though? Nothing more than normal computing woes?

lhgpoobaa

Illustrious
Dec 31, 2007
There shouldnt be, if done right. Avoid software raid... it can be problematic. Hardware raid is best.

and yes, backup regularly. only one of the two drives has to die to kill all data. so the chances of your array dying = odd of first drive dying PLUS odds of second dying.

only other cosideration with raid0 is what stripe size to use. The FAQ briefly covers this, and has links to a detailed explination of stripe sizes.

<b><font color=orange>My <font color=green>life <font color=red>has <font color=blue>been <font color=black>so <font color=purple>much <font color=yellow>more <font color=orange>colourful <font color=green>since <font color=blue>the <font color=red>advent <font color=black>of <font color=purple>Super <font color=red>VGA! :lol:

HammerBot

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002