Sign in with
Your question

Pocket PC or Laptop?

Last response: in Other Consumer Electronics
July 11, 2003 8:01:27 PM

Hey guys,

About a month ago, I finished building my new desktop computer. It is top of the line, and does everything I need. However, when I go to college in a month, I would like to able to take notes in classes and have a portable computer when I am studying, etc. I have already spent over $4000 on my desktop, so I am looking at buying either a cheap laptop or a pocket PC (under $400).

I am very interested in getting either a Dell Axim or Toshiba e750 pocket PC, so I want to ask: How easy/useful are these pocket PCs for taking notes? If they are difficult, I would rather get a cheap laptop.

I don't need a top of the line laptop... just enough to take notes, do Powerpoint presentation, etc. However, I want it to be a Pentium processor, no a Celeron. Any suggestions on where to look (other than Ebay)?

And finally, what would you get: a laptop or a pocket pc?

Thanks!

- Daniel (daniel1113[at]comcast[dot]net)

More about : pocket laptop

July 12, 2003 12:26:16 AM

I was in the same situation a few years back. Basically, taking notes is far easier if you have a decent sized keyboard. Plus, since I was already carrying around books and whatnot, it wouldn't really make much of a difference if I was carrying a tiny PocketPC or a full sized laptop. That, and I tend to think that laptops in general are slightly more durable than PocketPC's.

So, I got an old Toshiba Portege 3110CT from, you guessed it, Ebay. Can't play games on it of course, but it runs all the Office apps just fine. Plus it still gets lots of looks from the geek crowd because its super-tiny (10" x 8.5", 3/4" thick, 2.9lbs), even compared to today's slimtops. And it has a nice silver-metallic lid. :wink:

You can still find them for $500 or less. But I'm sure that there are faster laptops to be had in the same price range as well, perhaps not as small.