How to re-install default Win7 Codecs

Jamrock

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2009
Hello,

Recently, well the other day I decided I would re-install Oblivion and after re-install something went haywire and now music will not play in Oblivion. Well, it might, but if I leave music on it will freeze my mouse and keyboard 5 minutes into loading a game each and every time, leading the game to be unplayable. A little background in case you were wondering why I would want to reset Win7 codecs.

Well, I have looked all over google and have not seen any way to un-install all codecs and re-install default codecs that were installed with windows 7. This is all i'm trying to do.

P.S. - if WMP12 is uninstalled, would that remove the codecs with it? and would re-installing WMP12 add the codecs back, or do the codecs come with the Windows 7 install itself.

Thanks

-J

Jamrock

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2009
I'm an apprentice and your a youngster and your welcoming me? :non:

Lol, just kidding well welcome to you too. Haven't been here for the longest time but enjoying it so far.

1. K-lite Codec Pack doesn't reset my default Win7 codecs. It adds more. I want bare bones codecs that were installed with Windows 7. Not sure if it is possible without a reformat the way Winshaft does things since XP.

2. That, only works with WinXP. Hasn't been updated in years, and tried messaging him as he advertises on Bethesda's forums. Message box is full. Dude is long gone.

ujaansona

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2009
I'm an apprentice and your a youngster and your welcoming me? :non:
SORRY! :kaola:
1. K-lite Codec Pack doesn't reset my default Win7 codecs. It adds more.
I know what K-lite Codec Pack does. But it has solved lot's of hassle for me from time to time when i didn't had time to do format & reinstall.
I want bare bones codecs that were installed with Windows 7
I doubt if there is any way to do that.
Have you already tried uninstalling & installing MP12?
Not sure if it is possible without a reformat