Sign in with
Your question

Camp site wifi > Deliberant APC 2S-14 > ASUS RT-N66U

Last response: in Wireless Networking
September 2, 2012 11:27:33 AM

Hello all,

First, I'm a complete, and I mean complete novice at networks - but have a meagre understanding of PC's generally.

I live (yes live) in my touring caravan and get my Internet over the site's wifi broadcast. Generally a direct link to my netbook is available, but there are places where I'm out of sight/range.

To overcome these occassions I have purchased a Deliberant APC 2S-14 antenna, ethernet cable output is routed into the caravan. I have also the ASUS RT-N66U router to broadcast the Internet wirelessly inside the caravan (once I get it!).

So far I have mounted the antenna, connected the end of the ethernet cable into my netbook's LAN socket (also done it wirelessly) and successfully logged into the web page.

I am completely phazed by it... a scan shows the site's signal (and others in the area) but I'm at a loss how to get the wifi Internet to connect to the Deliberant.

The site has provided me with an IP address...

My assumption is that once I get the Internet coming out of the the end of the Deliberant's RJ45 ethernet cable I can plug this into the ASUS input socket?

I'm sure there must be a networking guru within the community who would chuckle at the above and stick their head above the parapet?

Should anyone wish to reply, please remember the opening sentence.

Hopefully yours,

Laddie.
September 2, 2012 2:35:14 PM

Make sure you configure the Deliberant in Bridge Mode using Dynamic IP. You'll then have to select the appropriate SSID and wireless security information of the remote AP. Finally, make sure the ethernet end of the Deliberant goes into the WAN port of your ASUS router.