IP Conflict with daisy chained Netgear CGD24G wired & wireless cable modem t

basia

Honorable
Oct 15, 2012
I'm a complete newbie at this, so please bear with me.

I'm attempting to connect multiple computers, laptops and printers to the same LAN. I currently have the switch daisy chained to the modem. I'm having issues with conflicting IP addresses and wireless access. I think I have to create static IP addresses but don't know which nor how.

The hardware I'm seeking to have on one LAN:
- Netgear CGD24G Cable Modem from Time Warner
- Netgear GS116E un-managed switch
- iMac OSX 10.8.x
- Dell PC desktop, Windows 7
- Sony Vaio PC desktop, Windows XP
- Dell PC desktop, Windows XP
- Sony Vaio laptop, Windows 7 Pro
- MacAir OSX 10.8.x
- MacBook Pro OSX (not sure which OS version)
- HP JetDirect 300x Print Serve (hooked up to HP LaserJet 2300)
- Epson Artisan 835
- Netgear Universal Adapter for Home Entertainment (SAVB5004)
- Netgear Powerline 500 Nano
- Apple iPhones (4 of these)
- Apple iPad

Several of these can work wirelessly, though I prefer wired whenever possible.

I have been getting IP address conflict notices as well as the wireless signal not being received on some of the wireless capable devices, which seems to be random but it could be that I just don't know enough to recognize a pattern. I believe the devices are all set to automatic assignment of IP addresses.

What is the correct way to daisy chain the cable modem and switch?

What is the correct protocol for assignment of IP addresses in order to avoid IP conflict?

Why does my wireless drop on some of the wireless-capable devices (such as the iMac, MacAir or Sony laptop)?

Any other advice?

Thanks!

d85kennedy

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2011
you need to enable DHCP on your router. this will give out IP addresses for you. All devices must be setup to have IP and DNS settings automatically.

since you have a lot of devices make sure that your router dhcp pool is big enough to cover them all.