Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Lagging on win7

Last response: in Windows 7
May 7, 2012 12:49:51 PM

Hi, my windows 7 is constantly lagging in the desktop which can be quite frustrating when using MS Word because i have to type and then wait for 5 seconds to see the results.
this does not appear in games (such as Skyrim) and I have a GTX580 MSI Twin Frozr II.
could this be a corrupt driver or something? also i have a DVI/VGA adapter cause of an old monitor (haven't invested in a good monitor/s yet :??:  )

this is what i have:
1x MSI Big Bang Marshal B3
1x GTX580 MSI Twin Frozr II
4x 4GB corsair dominator (2133MHz)
1x i7 2700k 3.5GHz

yes, i realize that some of these are total overkill :wahoo: 

oh, and please keep in mind that i'm a noob :o 

More about : lagging win7

Best solution

May 7, 2012 1:07:28 PM

return everything to stock settings...
worst case... install windows to another hdd to test if word does the same thing on the new install ( BTW a new install gives you up to 30 days testing time... just dont activate it.)
Anonymous
a b $ Windows 7
May 7, 2012 1:19:08 PM

have you opened task manager (right click on the taskbar) and looked for anything hogging up your cpu in the processes tab?
m
l
Related resources
a b $ Windows 7
May 7, 2012 1:22:55 PM

If you don't have a spare HDD, should be able to dual boot to a new install of Windows on the current boot drive.
m
l
May 7, 2012 2:09:33 PM

Quote:
return everything to stock settings...
worst case... install windows to another hdd to test if word does the same thing on the new install ( BTW a new install gives you up to 30 days testing time... just dont activate it.)

if you mean by stock settings, to set default settings in bios, then it is so.. haven't toched anything
also it's not just word, but everything (chrome, utorrent, steam) as long as i'm not in-game it lags
Quote:
have you opened task manager (right click on the taskbar) and looked for anything hogging up your cpu in the processes tab?