Need help choosing OS on low-end system

framarti

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2002
I'm upgrading my system from a pentium 2 266 to a duron 900. I'm just a high school student and that's all i can afford. It has 256 mb on ram and a tnt2 32 mb ( i will upgrade later in the year to a mx400 64 mb).

My question is if i must install windows xp or windows 98.
I want a bug-free xp system but i'm not sure if my system will run games at the same speed that windows 98 will. I want to know if the performance of win xp pro will be to poor on my system.

Thanks for your help
PD: I'm chilean and i don't speak english very well. Sorry for the bad grammar.

Toejam31

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
WinXP will be just fine on that system, especially after you upgrade the video card.

Note: The "sweet spot" for the memory is 512MB, but WinXP won't give you any problems with 256MB, unless you are planning on running a really high powered, memory-hungry application.

WinXP will run your games just as fast ... maybe even faster than Win98. The best results I've had when benchmarking a video card has been with WinXP.

Toejam31

<font color=red>My Rig:</font color=red> <A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?rigid=6847" target="_new"><font color=green>Toejam31's Tantalizing Tantric Toy</font color=green></A>
<font color=red>Second Rig:</font color=red> <A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?rigid=15942" target="_new"><font color=green>Toey's Dynamite DDR Duron</font color=green></A>

<font color=purple>"Procrastination on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part."</font color=purple>

Stick_e_Mouse

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2001
>> a bug-free xp system

Was that suppose to be a joke or something?
At any rate, Linux can be run on just about any system from a 486 to a high end AthlonXP and P4 machine.
BTW-it's also about 100 times more stable than any windoze system ever made.
My suggestion, DUAL boot--using 98 strickly for games, and everything else use Linux.