Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Belkin Router as Access Point

Last response: in Wireless Networking
September 17, 2012 1:33:44 AM

Hello,
I am a newbie, and I am using a Verizon Fios system at home. I have a desktop pc on the other side of the house from my modem that does not have wireless capabilities. I read that I can use an access point to connect it to my wireless network. I'm not sure if this is true or not. I set up my Belkin N150 basic router as directed to make it an access point. I connected it to my desktop pc on the other side of the house and it does not work. 1. Can this set up work? 2. If so, what do I need to do to get connected? Currently the pc is not even recognizing the router/access pt.
September 17, 2012 4:11:24 PM

You want to run the router as a BRIDGE. Your problem is how do you expect to connect to the modem if it does not have wireless. You would need to run a wire which then leads to the question of why bother in the first place just hook the PC up.
m
l
September 17, 2012 4:50:50 PM

Thank you for the response. So even if I config the router as a bridge I would need a wire? Are the only ways to make this happen with out a wire are to buy a wireless card or a USB card?
m
l
Related resources
September 17, 2012 5:09:38 PM

A USB wireless card is the cheapest thing to try first less than $10.

m
l
September 17, 2012 6:43:03 PM

bill001g said:
A USB wireless card is the cheapest thing to try first less than $10.

Unfortunately I tried that and it is just too far from the router for it to work well. I can use my Internet off my cell phone over in that are just fine but the USB signal is too weak.
m
l

Best solution

September 17, 2012 7:10:22 PM

You have the common issue you see people asking about all the time here. Even a bridge will not receive the signal any better. Mostly the bridge allows you to place it in a better place in the room....but a USB with a USB extender cable does that too.