VLAN Help Needed

jharvey1029

Honorable
Nov 4, 2012
Hello All,

I've been trailing the internet looking for someone in a similar situation to myself. I'm completely new to VLANs, but I need to create two VLANs in my home environment. I'm looking to put an AP on our back porch to extend the internet access and to improve the signal strength etc. However I want to separate (IPs) connected devices inside the house from devices connected outside, while still being able to access the media server, which is inside the house. I dont even know if its possible with the equipment I have. I have the following equipment.

1x Dell Switch PowerConnect 2716 - 16 Port Gigabit (supports VLANs)
1x NetGear Wireless Router - standard (no vlan options within) will be the outside wireless AP
1x Standard Comcast wireless router - Main internet source. (no vlan options within)

After looking online, I've looked at the options within my Dell switch, but I'm so confused by things such as:
VLAN Membership
VLAN port settings

What I'm looking for is someone to assist me with configuring each device so that IP's will be separated from devices that are connected on the porch from devices inside the house.

I would appreciate all the help on this.

Thanks

James

choucove

Distinguished
May 13, 2011
The biggest problem I see is that you do not have any sort of device here that can actually route between the VLANs. You need to either have a Layer 3 switch or have a router that can run multiple networks, which most wireless routers will not do.

jharvey1029

Honorable
Nov 4, 2012

Thank you for your reply. Just for my own understanding, can you explain why, with the equipment I have, wont it work? I'm just building a picture in my head so that I have a clear understanding.

choucove

Distinguished
May 13, 2011