Trying to find a good router for gaming and downloading

TheByt3

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2010
I have an issue with how my router prioritizes the traffic in my network and the fact is that it doesn't.

It is a generic chinese router that was given to me when I made the contract for the internet connection.

I have a speed of 24 mbit down and 1 mbit up.

What happens is when I download a game from Origin for example and my internet speed maxes out, it is like I have no internet connection at all. I can't enter any websites whatsoever because my whole bandwidth is being given to the download and nothing else.

I have been messing around with the NetLimiter software for a couple of years but it just doesn't do the job, the only way to have internet when downloading is to limit significant the traffic being given to my download which I don't like doing.

Another problem I have is quite high pings in games when I download even if I have limited the traffic towards my download.

Hell even if I watch a youtube video at 1080p my whole traffic is being given to youtube and I have to wait for the video to finish downloading if I wanted for example to check my facebook while simultaneously watch the video.

All in all this is quite a problem for me and I want you people to suggest me good routers that will do good prioritization.

I live alone and don't I'll ever have more than 4 computers at home at the same time, so a maximum of 4 LAN ports would be perfectly fine.

Also it must have WiFi.

I have heard about WDs routers that do very good prioritization and even saw them getting hammered by multiple kinds of traffic in one of LinusTechTips videos but I just want to hear your personal opinion so I can have more options.

john-b691

Honorable
Sep 29, 2012