66stangfastback

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Hey guys,

I'm currently working for a small business and we are looking to upgrade our router. I've been put in charge and am seeking some guidance.

We generally have 4-5 computers on our network, all connected via ethernet, as well as a big business printer, and our office server. One employee works from home, however remotely logs in to her computer in the office via gotomypc.

Our current setup is simple, modem>router>switch>devices. We have a cheapo, 2-3 year old d-link 4 port 10/100 router.

Our problem is our internet often bogs down, to the point that you can't load two pages simultaneously while working, which is a big issue as a lot of the job involves internet use. Upon rebooting the system, it seems the problems go away for maybe a day or two before it slows back down.

Like I said, my boss has put me in charge, though I have little to no knowledge of networking at the business level. She has given me up to a $1000 budget to select a new router for the office. I feel a low-end business class router or high end residential router costing ~$250 could fulfill our needs, however I'm sure you all or much more knowledgable than I.

Our goal for the router is to select a router that will perform at a high level for years to come so that as we upgrade computers/printers/servers, the router will not be left behind.

I have been looking around, and i feel the main things that we would need in a router are fairly high RAM/Flash memory, IpV6 support, 802.11ac and gigabit ports, as well as RADIUS security.

I don't believe many of the intricacies that come with high-end business networking are necessary for our application.

Also, if we were to introduce a wireless router, rather than our simple wired router, would the system still work the same as far as our network printer and server access? Or should we leave our computers as wired connections, using the wireless solely for our iPads, etc?