BIG Question for a willing soul

Rag2012

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
Would you be willing to review a small network design I am doing for a networking class and tell me where or what I might need to change or do differently. I really like this networking but this is my first class so I'm a novice with more desire than knowledge at this point. The only catch is the assignment is due tomorrow midday. I'm not asking you to do it for me I would just like you to make sure I'm doing what would work, and make suggestions. I have some areas highlighted but that does not mean the rest is not without errors or questionable decisions. I will try to make it easy so it does not take much of your time as I know you probably have better things to do, but this might be fun and interesting for you. Can you remember back when you were learning this.

It has one location in Colorado with a main office (110 computers) and a plant ( 20 computers). Another office in Missouri having (50 computers). The Company is a class B organization and it seems the instructor wants us to do some subnetting. I am to design the entire network from the core, distribution, access and even to the WAN. Here is what I have.

Colorado Office Location (110 computers in service)
Core Layer:
Architecture: Routed backbone (bus) using layer 2 router ??? should I use layer 3 here instead?
Recommended speed: 1000Mps/1gbps
Cable type: 1 GbE fiber over Ethernet (10GbE?) //should I go with the 10GbE and a different device
Device recommendations: Ethernet 1000Base-F, 4 port router
Assumptions:

Distribution Layer:
Architecture: Switched (star) using layer 3 switches
Cable type: 1GbE on fiber from the core to the switches, Cat6 from the switches to computers.
Device recommendations: Layer 3 Ethernet switches 10/100/1000Base-T, 1-48 port, 2-24 port, 1-16 port.
Assumptions:

Access Layer:
Architecture: Switched (star) using layer 2 switches
Cable type: Cat6, several patch cables
Device recommendations: the 100 computers