Sign in with
Your question

Error: Boot Disk Failure, insert system disk

Last response: in Storage
November 26, 2002 12:29:24 PM

Been struggling with this for over a week. Whenever I try to boot I get this message: Boot Disk Error, Please Insert system disk and press enter. I've tried all things I know are possible and I'm a trained tech so this is a complicated problem. Any ideas?

Marmeduke
November 26, 2002 12:43:24 PM

You need to post a lot more details! What are you booting? Floopy, IDE, SCSI, CDROM??? How many drives have you connected to your system. What have you attempted yourself?
There are a lot of possible reasons why you can't boot. But theres no need to suggest all what you allready have attempted.

<i><b>Engineering is the fine art of making what you want from things you can get</b></i>
<A HREF="http://www.btvillarin.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=655" target="_new">My systems</A>
November 26, 2002 3:41:31 PM

I've tried all drives for booting. The system has IDE hard drive, floppy and two cdroms. I've tried to use all three as the primary boot system and I've also disconnected the others and tried each one seperately. The system was running Windows ME but I tried to reformat and install windows 98. That was the last time I was able to get a dos-prompt. The system was unstable before that. Any other info needed? I've tried two motherboards...the first one carried a PII- 350 and the second an AMD K2-420. System has 256 meg of ram. I've taken out the graphics, audio and modem cards. Motherboards are ASUS P5A-B and Abit AB-BX6. I've also taken the hard drives out and placed them in my primary comp which is a Dell P4 1.6 with 512 ram. My system would not recognize them. Then I took out my hard drive from the dell and tried it in the old system and it would not recognize it. Very wierd problem and I'm running out of ideas. Can you help?

Marmeduke
Related resources
November 26, 2002 4:39:47 PM