Wireless Repeater Keeps Dropping Connection

yougotjaked

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
As I am more of a hardware guy and pretty clueless about networking, I thought I'd come here because I am pretty frustrated right now.

So yesterday, I got an Amped Wireless SR10000 Repeater for Christmas. I had it set up and working with no problems. However, this message did pop up when it was finished:

b895199271ac2b2f065e4ba182644a93.png

I ignored it (stupid me) because I didn't know what to do. The connection worked fine for a while, but now a day later, the connection keeps dropping. I would assume it is because of this.

Do you guys have any suggestions for solutions? I did a bit of research and it seems like setting up a static IP will fix the problem, but I have no idea how to do that. If anyone could help me out that'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

- Jake

Solution
I Am not an expert In networking but I might be able to help you
The access point leases out IP address to networked Items in your home and It just happens that your item you are connecting with was given the same IP address of another Item

go to start and under search type "network connections" (This is if your using windows 7 or vista)
While in network connections look for your network adapter, Right click and go all the way to the bottom on properties
Now look for the item that says Internet protocol V4 or IPV4 click on it and now click properties.
The Obtain "Ip address Automatically" should be checked change it to "use following Ip address"
Now leave the window open and go to start and search and Open up Cmd, Just type cmd...

static1120

Honorable
Mar 27, 2012
I Am not an expert In networking but I might be able to help you
The access point leases out IP address to networked Items in your home and It just happens that your item you are connecting with was given the same IP address of another Item

go to start and under search type "network connections" (This is if your using windows 7 or vista)