Need help setting a gaming server

ComputerGeek1973

Honorable
Jan 3, 2013
hello :) :)

I have a good background about networking,but i am not a trained professional.
I need some advice from proffesionals.
I want to get the best networking hardware for a mmo gaming server that will hold 1000 to 5000 players.
I am not talking about scaling or how many devices i need,i can handle that.
I am talking about which hardware to buy and what config. i should use.
I want to use cisco stuff!
I dont want the very complicated setup,i want my setup to be simple secure and efficient.
The setup will be at home no VPS or hosted servers.
Should I get a leased line or a normal FTTx connection.

Waiting for the answer... :bounce: :bounce:

Thanks

bdubs85

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2011
more specifically, how much bandwidth is going to be required per player (average), and how many servers are going to be required to support that kind of load?

this will matter for your internet connection and also for your hardware.

choucove

Distinguished
May 13, 2011
I read a bit from your other thread in the server section. Now I'm not an expert at setting up game servers, but I can definitely tell you that running a huge load of connections is going to be much more cost effective to spread over several more "standard" physical servers than a single ungodly expensive server. This works out to better load balancing and also has less risk of down time due to a single server failing versus having many running that can take over if one fails.