In dire need of advice for AMD computer!!!

G

Hello everyone on THGC! I've been told that lockup/freezing problems are some of the hardest problems to troubleshoot, but I've tried everything that I could think of and I am now desperate. I'm relatively new to the unbelieveably fun hobby of assembling computers so be kind..

System Info: Windows XP Pro running on a Soyo SY-K7V Dragon Plus (266Mhz FSB, VIA KT266A chipset), AMD Athlon XP 2000+, Mushkin PC2100 512MB DDR RAM, 2 Seagate 40GB 7200RPM ATA100 Barracuda HDDs, Terratec DMX 6Fire 24bit/96Khz soundcard w/ frontside rack, VisionTek GeForce4 Ti4600 128MB DDR, Liteon 16x40x DVD drive, Liteon 40x12x48x CD burner, and a Realtek LAN adapter that came with Road Runner.