Best setup to extend wireless signal?

zerix

Honorable
Dec 1, 2012
Hi everyone,

I am confused about which setup to used as I am new to the networking scene. I know there are repeaters, range extenders and wireless access points for devices to connect wirelessly, im just confused about the technical side of what they each do and the advantages and disadvantages.

My current situation: My computer is located at the basement and my router and modem is at the top floor of the house. My house is just under 2000 sq ft. In my basement I can't seem to get a signal, I do a lot of gaming so i would like to have a reliable and consistent wireless connection. At first i was thinking about getting a range extender, as it is inexpensive and seems to work for a lot of people. I was thinking about purchasing this range extender. I read that range extenders, create another network aside from the router, so I cannot connect to any devices that are connected to the 'router' network such as a wireless printer. Besides this, is there any other fallbacks to using a range extender? And are range extenders the same as wifi boosters?

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=49261&vpn=ERB9250&manufacture=EnGenius

After some research on the forums i can across repeaters, i read that repeaters are bad because since they repeat the signal from the repeater to the device, the bandwidth is half because the signal must go back to the repeater before it can reach the wireless router. I was wondering if the range extender i posted above will have the same problem.

Lastly, if i were to set up a wireless access point, in my current situation how would i do it? And what are the shortcomings of this setup?

Thank you for taking your time to read

Solution