Sign in with
Your question

Windows 8 or 7 for SLI gaming

Last response: in Windows 8
February 25, 2013 6:18:29 AM

Hello,

So I want to go windows 8 because I'm weird and actually like the interface. I'm afraid it will have an effect on my gaming performance.

Specs
i5 3570k
MSI Z77A-G45
SLI EVGA 660 SC
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
Kingston Hyper X T1 Series 8 DDR3 1866
asus pce-n15
H60 cooling kit
120 GB Vertex 3
2TB Green Drive
Card Reader
DVD Drive
Case is a NZXT 210 Source
1080P Monitor @ 60hz

My concerns with windows 8
-Little support for SLI

My reasons for windows 8
-I upgraded my laptop to windows 8 and like it
-Laptop has not had any compatibility issues with programs or games
-Syncing profiles is a big plus

I know windows 8 had a lot of bugs when it first released but a lot of them have been fixed right? Thanks for the help this is my first time on a forum so I'm new and if you need more info let me know.

More about : windows sli gaming

February 25, 2013 6:22:31 AM

If you are concerned about compatibility and SLI/Crossfire then Win7 is still the way go. AMD has been a little more aggressive in Win8 compatibilty, but it's still not on the level of Win7. If your laptop is true SLI then Win 7 for sure, but if it has just one discrete cards there won't be much a difference, *usually*
February 25, 2013 6:22:56 AM

You indicate your goal is SLI gaming. Well, considering most gamers run Windows 7, I would say Windows 7. It's been out longer, it's more stable, and there are far more drivers for Windows 7 and they have been updated more than what's available for Windows 8.

Besides, if you're in the game, you won't see the fancy Windows 8 interface anyway! ;) 
Related resources
February 25, 2013 6:27:10 AM

abbadon_34 said: