MoCA...as in direct to TV instead of to DVR

MrMyke

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2009
Hello, I am just learning about MoCA, thanks to TIVO sending me a free MoCA adapter with a new DVR I bought. :) I still have a lot to learn though, and I will appreciate your help here.

Looks like a good way to replace my WiFi service to the existing DVR box...now I will have MoCA to the new box. The diagrams for that are all clear, and I think I understand enough in terms of basic hookup. The MoCA device lives next to my router and the cable modem. TIVO says the new TIVO box actually doesn't need its own MoCA adapter on its end.

My question deals with the MoCA service "past" the TIVO to the TV itself. I know that when I watch TV through the TIVO box I should get the benefit of the MoCA communication stream going into the TV. BUT...what about the TV's own native internet reception?

Right now the TV, a new one too, is "smart" (ahem) and feeds from my existing WiFi, just not very strongly of course. So here's the specific question: Will my TV be able to abandon the WiFi and now gain the MoCA feed that is piped first to the TIVO box??

If not, what do I have to add to get the TV's internet to feed from the MoCA? Is that even possible? The TIVO box feeds the TV through an HDMI cable, so I don''t think I can put another MoCA device between the TIVO and the TV. How else do I get the MoCA to become the TV's internet feed?

(For that matter, there is this bonus question for anyone who I haven't already lost: In another room lives a TV just hooked up to the house cable, no DVR, but there is the kid's Xbox there...what is required to get the MoCA there? So far, I believe I just need another MoCA adapter up there between the wall outlet and the TV input...but does it go in front of the XBox input, or exactly where??)

Wow, that's a lot. Thanks SO much to anyone here who is able to help!

Solution