I need some help with my MIDI sound!!!

Tags:
  • Sound Cards
  • Computer
  • MIDI
  • Components
Last response: in Components
January 12, 2003 12:47:55 PM

Maybe someone who is into this can answer because it's really important for me...

I'm a musician who creates songs on my computer. Unfortunately my MIDI sound sucks. I use those simple programs which use MIDI as playback... Is there better programs who doesn't use MIDI???

I've some wave-files that other people have sent me where you can hear their MIDI sound... And their sound kick ass! It almost sound like it is recorded with real instruments. My question is: "How can you make your MIDI sound better" Some use Sound Fonts to get a really good sound, but what exactly is Sound Fonts and how do you use it???

Otherwise from that can you use software to make your midi better?

It would be really good if someone know an answer to my provblems! Thanks!!!

/Emil Landin

More about : midi sound

January 12, 2003 4:30:13 PM

What sound card or sound chip does your system have?

<b>99% is great, unless you are talking about system stability</b>
January 12, 2003 9:28:14 PM

I have a crappy built in soundcard who is placed directly on the motherboard...

In the device manager it says: "Intel(r) 82801BA/BAM AC'97 - Sound Device" - I don't know a heck about those things so i don't know what that means
Related resources
January 12, 2003 10:15:32 PM

I was trying to figure out if you have wavetable synthesis for Midi but I don't know what the onboard sound capablilties are for Intel motherboards.

I only know Windows 98 but if you check the Control Panels and look for Multimedia there should be a tab for Midi. What does it say is enabled? What is available?

Wavetable is good. FM synthesis is crap.

January 13, 2003 11:40:23 AM

Well in the program I use it looks like this:

<A HREF="http://www.algonet.se/~klhemtj/midi.jpg" target="_new">http://www.algonet.se/~klhemtj/midi.jpg&lt;/A>