Server...Upgrade?

Beachnative

Honorable
Jan 25, 2013
I've been hired to help out with the IT and building maintenance, in other words a glorified janitor. I have some networking/admin experience but never set up a new network or updated one my previous boss did it. Now I'm looking for guidance.

The server at my present job is an SBS 2003, is a DC, has Exchange and it's getting ready to croak. I have a new server in front of me and the boss says to install Server 2008 R2 with Exchange 2010. The box is a Dell T320 with a Intel Xeon E5-2430 2.2Ghz two 1T drives that will be mirrored and has 32 GB of RAM.

The office environment is a small office with 14 Win 7 Ultimate computers

Needed: A server for email, file storage and a DC.

I'm thinking after installing the OS have the new server join the domain as a secondary DC then promote the secondary to the master then remove the initial master.

This seems to be a long way to do this but would it be easier to do a fresh install , then import the Exchange data from the original server?

Option 1 (join server as secondary AD then promote) would be the best option as it retains the current domain structure. However, SBS server has, in the past, not played well with others, being intended as a stand-alone solution. So be prepared for some difficulties with getting the two to talk.

Option 2 (clean install then import from old Exchange Server) is the long way 'round as you would have to recreate the AD domain and have all the workstations join the new domain. New domain means new profiles on the workstations and either editing the registry to point to the old one or manually copying files from the old profile to the new. However, if you can't get SBS to play nice then it's your only option.

choucove

Distinguished
May 13, 2011