svenborg

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2003
Question.....If I build a pc to hook to my tv (50" Toshiba HDTV) what can I expect for dvd playback on the tv. I intend to use component video connection to the tv...as I do now from my exixting 3yr old RCA DVD player. I had been toying with the idea of buying a progressive scan DVD player to improve the video quality of dvd movie playback but i'm wondering if DVD playback from a DVD ROM will be as good as the progressive scan playback. Is this a factor of DVD playing software for the DVD ROM.....or a combination of this and the video card (ATI 8500DV). Anyhoo...thanks for your help in advance.

BrayPowell

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2003
I have the same question as you do and would like an answer from someone who has actual experience.

I have no experience as I am waiting for my HDTV to arrive, but I have done research.

First, a DVD ROM typically provides no output external to the PC; if you are to attempt to match the quality, component output is required.
Second, I do not know whether the ATI 8500DV comes with component output. My ATI AIW 9700 did come with component output through the TV out port. I do not think it can actual provide output at the better HDTV equivalent quality levels as the TV out on the card has limited resolution capabilities.
Third, ATI sells an HDTV Component Video adapter that adapts the monitor out signals to provide a variety of HDTV quality signals.
Finally, with respect to this adapter ATI's FAQs state that "DVD playback is supported in 480i and 480p modes due to Macrovision restrictions." As you may know, Macrovision refers to the industry's standards implemented for copy protection purposes for DVDs. This statement implies that the best quality attainable because of these standards for any compliant device will be 480p, therefore implying that the ATI card can provide the same quality output as the best DVD player.

The questions I am left with are: