Overheating after upgrading HP

pcdigestive77

Honorable
Jun 4, 2012
Hi I'm new to this. I have a HP Pavillion dv6680ea laptop, and I upgraded from Vista to Windows 7 32-bit. I find that the fan is constantly blowing and the computer is constantly overheating. After a small bit of searching through the forums I can see it may be an issue with upgrading the BIOS? But HP don't officially offer such an upgrade for this model. I couldn't really make sense of a lot of the terms myself so I thought I should just ask the question here and any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

RealBeast

Titan
I don't see what difference the OS should make, why do you think it is overheating? Run a temp program like coretemp to see what the actual temperatures are, perhaps it is a fan management issue, seems more likely to me. Coretemp app: http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

If there is no bios update for your computer, do not try a bios update with anything else or you will have a dead machine. You should, however, look in your bios and see if the fan control settings are where you want them.

sounds like HP had a program that controlled the fan and that program is either not installed or not compatible with windows 7. that would be HP for ya. check their website see what drivers and software they have for you're model

pcdigestive77

Honorable
Jun 4, 2012
Ever since I updated the OS there was a very noticeable difference in the temperature of the laptop. I'm studying architecture so I use programmes like autocad and photoshop frequently that demand a lot from the computer. But even with everyday use the fan is constantly blowing full and extremely loud from the minute I power it on even if Im not using any of these programmes. I read somewhere that other people were having similar issues after OS upgrade and a bios update resolved it but I cant upgrade.