Sign in with
Your question

Is there a way I can get 4 devices on one ethernet outlet?

Last response: in Networking
February 8, 2013 3:48:47 AM

I don't really know how much an Ethernet switch works, as I am new to building computers and such.

I'm going to be building a PC. I want to use ethernet cable instead of wireless for it. To do so, we're having a contractor install ethernet outlets in each of the rooms in the house, however that's going to work.

So I'll have one in my room.

I want to hook up my PS3, Xbox 360, Apple TV, and my desktop up to the one outlet in the wall, without having to change them at any time manually. But I also want to be able to use them at once without having to turn them off.

Say I'm playing an Xbox game, but I can't save it. An NHL game comes on and I want to watch it, so I change my TV to the PS3 input and watch the NHL game. While watching the NHL game, I want to browse on my PC.

So having 3 devices at once is ideal.

How would I go about doing this?
February 8, 2013 4:30:32 AM

You have a couple of choices. #1. Have 4 runs brought into the room / outlet box where the devices are, and connect back to where the router / switch is, or you can add a small say 5 or 8 port switch. 1 port connects to the cable from the wall, the other ports connect to your devices...

By adding the switch in your space instead of connecting back to a single larger switch, you are effectively creating your own "Star topology" network that simply connects to another via the ethernet cable. The fact remains that you are in the same logical space / IP address range, so everything should talk just fine...

The drawback is everything talks back to the rest of the network over one wire, limited to the port speed, instead of the switch speed, so 4 devices for example will share a gigabit cable back to your router. Not too shabby, and odds are your internet connection is your real weak spot anyway...
m
l
February 8, 2013 10:16:30 PM

Kirihuna said: