Changing ip address

virtual shade

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012
Hello, my computer manufacturer remote connected to my computer and found that the ip address is hacked. we have a new router in waiting, I was wondering, if we changed the ip address for the modem, and all the comps in the household, will that get rid of the hack cloud once and for all? we have been fighting with this since last July.. Any advise much appreciated

rgd1101

Don't

You mean they hack the router? and override the DNS?
Or they hack your computer?

virtual shade

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012
Thank you for such a speedy response. That's where I'm confused. The hacker has always hit my computer first and stayed until he/she crashed me. According to "comp. Manu." and what I saw on my screen, my computer ip that has be hacked, but I'm not sure. I'm a biologist major, I having to learn this stuff as I go along. How can I tell if it's the router or the DNS? Thanks again for any advise

Sorry... you say you have been fighting this since last july... How? secure your internet connection with WPA2 if its wifi, grab a firewall like comodo, use stealth ports, close off all unnecessary ports, do not allow remote desktop to even think about being enabled when you don't absolutely need it.

What makes you think he hacked your ip? and what makes you think having someones IP makes them vulnerable?

Just looking for some info on the preliminary steps you have taken thus far, also what are you connected to internet wise (IE school internet, coffee shop down the street, etc)

Most likely its just a virus or someone messing with remote desktop, going into your homegroup and mucking up things.

virtual shade

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012