Ashish34

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2002
Ok, might seem like a small questions, but here it goes:
1) Which rechargeable battery is better (for regular AA/AAA batteries) - NiCd or NiMh?? And if one is better, why do you feel it is better?
2) I've noticed that rechargeable's only have a voltage of 1.2V, and regular batteries have a voltage of 1.5V. I've never tried the rechargeables before (except once with an igniter for a hobby rocket, which failed with the 1.2V recharables despite the rechargeables being fully charged; but the igniter lit with regular 1.5's). So, will the lower voltage make a difference in many of the commonly used devices? (MP3 players, flashlights, some telephones, etc.)
3)I have a cordless phone (relatively new) that uses a Nickel Cadmium (NiCd). Do these batteries degrade very quickly (lose their capacity) if charged all the time (before it is completely decharged)?

The main reason I ask is that I spend far, far too much money on batteries (the main reason being my "I-shouldve-known-why-it-was-on-sale" MP3 player eating batteries at the rate of one per week, with me playing it maybe an hour or so a day, for maybe 4 or 5 days out of the week).

Thanks much

~ApT~

Running:
333 MHz Celeron (Slot1)
192 MB RAM
4 MB ATi Rage LT Integrated Video
ESS 1869 Integrated Audio
Comcrap (Compaq) mobo<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by ashish34 on 09/01/03 01:30 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

davemar14

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2003
NiMH batteries are better. They are more powerful and do not have "memory". As for the voltages you are right. The rechargable batteries are 1.2V and regular batteries are 1.5V. I am not sure if the batteries would power your Mp3 player. I am pretty sure it would work, but I would contact the manufacturer to make sure.

BunnyStroker

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2001