Sign in with
Your question

Win 7 FRUSTRATIONS - HELP

Tags:
  • Windows 7
Last response: in Windows 7
June 9, 2012 6:32:29 AM

Hello,

I just bought a new laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit for $650. I make my living with a laptop. I am a graphic designer and Cad operator. I use Auto Cad 2010, Photoshop CS5 and Illustrator CS5 for my income. I was using a 7 year old laptop running XP. I can not afford to buy new 64 bit software. I asked around a lot and did some research. There is a general consensus that if I want to run 32 bit software, Windows 7 Ultimate is the platform that guarantees that 32 bit software will run in the 64 bit environment.

I’m a computer user, NOT a computer Tech. So I spent an extra $150 to upgrade to the Ultimate. I’m good to go . . . So I thought.

I am LOST without Windows Classic Mode. The first couple of days I slaved to get Win 7 to look and run like the Windows Classic Mode. I loaded the Win 7 version of Firefox and transferred my bookmarks. No problem. I installed Adobe Acrobat Pro Extended . . . no problem. I then tried to install Auto Cad. It will not Install. I just get a message that the OS is not compatible !! :fou:  What ??!! :o  I spent $150 so this won’t happen !! :cry:  A friend of mine had a 64 bit trial version I can try. That Installed properly.

I’ve been using Word Perfect X3 that I bought a few years ago. It installed like it should and it SEEMED to run properly . . . It seemed to run OK until I tried to save. I am unable to save anything anywhere !! :cry:  It was asking me for a password for the document . . . That never happened before ! :heink:  I gave it a password but it still won’t save the file. What is going on !!?? Win 7 Ultimate can’t run anything that is a 32 bit software !!!!! :fou: