DUAL OP systems set up W98SE and XP: how to?

G

Ok, i bit the bullit and am upgrading my old W98 PIII 600 to an Athlon XP 2000+ and 512M DDR ram.

Heres the scenario, im salvaging a lot of stuff from my old system, one thing being a 30G hd. Also have coming a newer slightly faster 60G one.

So, I'm new to dual boot configurations, so i want to run a dual boot system of both W98SE and WXP home, best of both worlds, keeping w98 for some of them apps and games that xp's not going to like.

I want XP on the newer fastest 60G HD since i'll be using that the most. the speed dif between the new drive and the old isn't that much, as its only 6 months old, the main thing is i want to mostly keep 98 and xp on separate hd's just for sanity sake far as maintainance goes.

I hear w98 has to be installed to a PRIMARY MASTER drive, and XP doesn't care where it goes?

Ok, so if this is true, i plan on making the 30g the PRIMARY MASTER of the first IDE channel, and the 60G a PRIMARY SLAVE on the same IDE channel.

My DVD\CDROM and CDR\RW will be on the SECONDARY IDE channel and the CDR\W BURNER will be the MASTER there and the DVD\CDROM the SLAVE, as i was told it's best to leave a burner as a master on a channel?

And the burner has "burnproff technology, so puting BOTH CD\DVD devices on the same IDE channel is mute for performance purposes as opposed to put one on one channel and the other on another for making direct CD to CD BURNER copies where having both on the same channel would cause performance problems when both devices try to share that channel and without burnproff tech you have a chance of the old "buffer under run problem" therefore creating the old coasters?

So, I'll install w98SE on one partion of the 30 GIGER say 10G in size which will become C drive, and make another 5G partion as well, so 2 partitions, 15G total on the old 30G HD JUST for w98SE as i figure ill hardly be using 98 exept to play those stuborn older games that won't like xp.