Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What do you think of Windows 7 Gaming

Last response: in Windows 7
June 14, 2012 3:40:22 AM

This is just where people can offer their thoughts and opinions on windows 7.

I also have a few questions for you guys.

1: Is windows 7 really the best for gaming?

2: Do you think windows 8 will be better than windows 7 for gaming?

3: Why do you like windows 7?

4: Why do people hate Vista?

5: Is XP dead?

6: Why do Gamers still stick with XP?

I have been using XP Pro x64 for a few years now and the latest games have been mainly optimized for vista and 7. And XP x64 is a very early version of x64 operating systems which has a few Compatibility and driver issues. Since Game companies are heading for directX 10 and 11 will this perhaps make XP obsolete for gamers? But what about Vista? When i upgraded from XP to Vista specifically for DX10 i noticed that i had a huge decrease in performance, even in DX9. People say that this is because of Vista's Aero Interface, I find this hard to believe considering windows 7 has an even more complex Aero interface and performs much better in an gaming enviroment.

I did some test's and got these result's.

Game, Crysis. Everything on ultra @ 1920x1200 DX9.

PC i ran the test's on had these specs:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHz
4GB DDR2 800MHz Dual Channel
XFX 780i 3-way SLI Nforce 4
XFX GTX 285 1GB GDDR3

XP Pro x64: 38 FPS Average
Vista Ultimate x64: 25 FPS Average
Win7 Ultimate x64: 35 FPS Average
Win8 Developer Preview x64: 42 FPS Average

I know the system im using for these test's isn't the best but you get the idea.

So clearly you can tell windows 8 is better, but will the final release be even better or worse?

More about : windows gaming

a b $ Windows 7
a b 4 Gaming
June 14, 2012 3:57:32 AM

1. yes because it has the most compatibility with games and programs and has dx11 which xp cannot use
2. I don't know. so far it offers no special treatment for gaming as of yet.