Sign in with
Your question

SDRAM upgrade capacity?

Last response: in Memory
March 19, 2003 1:51:56 AM

How can I determine the maximum memory upgrade for my Pavilion 9686C purchased new in March 2000? 3 sellers of memory (Crucial.com, Dell.com, and Kingston.com) indicate that I can upgrade to 512MB from my current 128MB SDRAM and the original HP product specifications (received at time of purchase) agree, however specification now found on the HP website have been changed & say maximum upgrade is 256 MB. Recent e-mail support from HP indicated that the max upgrade is 256MB, but offered no explanation for the change from the original specs. Board: Asus K7M 1.04, BIOS: Phoenix Technologies LTD 1.00 11/30/99. Which upgrade capacity is correct?

More about : sdram upgrade capacity

March 19, 2003 8:02:56 AM

If you can borrow one or two sticks of PC-100 SDRAM (no need branded one, try generic one) then try them on your system. I've been working in HP COMPAQ for 3 months and I found out that most "branded" system has limitation upon RAM upgrade. I don't know about HP Pavilion but somehow you can't use branded RAM like Kingstion, Trenscend etc. larger than 128MB in single slot. in some COMPAQ Presario, it just won't boot up correctly but generic RAM will run fine.

My PC has gone to hell... because it's a killing machine...
Related resources
March 19, 2003 8:02:57 AM

If you can borrow one or two sticks of PC-100 SDRAM (no need branded one, try generic one) then try them on your system. I've been working in HP COMPAQ for 3 months and I found out that most "branded" system has limitation upon RAM upgrade. I don't know about HP Pavilion but somehow you can't use branded RAM like Kingstion, Trenscend etc. larger than 128MB in single slot. in some COMPAQ Presario, it just won't boot up correctly but generic RAM will run fine.

My PC has gone to hell... because it's a killing machine...
a b } Memory
March 20, 2003 1:23:33 AM