Setting up Laptop centered home theater

ojako

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2003
Hi, everyone. I'm a long time reader of THG but this is my first time posting here.

I'm currently in the process of trying to replace my traditional home theater system with a new one centered on my laptop in order to save space.

My laptop has USB 2.0 and Firewire ports and I'm looking to get a home theater caliber sound card and speaker combo that will work with it and that I'll be able to plug my GameCube into, as well. From what I've seen, the Logitech z-680 and the Creative MegaWorks 6.1 look like the best speaker systems within my budget. From what I've seen, the Logitech has built-in decoders for most of the major codecs while the Creative does not.

I haven't really seen any products for laptops that output audio up to the standards that the Creative speakers can handle. The Audigy 2 Platinum EX has the features I want, but it requires a PCI card which makes it unusable with a laptop. The Extigy is close to it, but its lack of DTS and 6.1 support would make the extra money for the Creative speakers a waste, I think. THG raves about the Echo Indigo, but it seems that it is really geared for use with headphones. M-Audio makes the Sonica which is an USB 1.1 adapter with optical Dolby Digital and DTS output.

I'd greatly appreciate if any of you could recommend what you think the best pair of speakers and soundcards for use with my laptop, especially if you're aware of any products that provide similar featuers as the Audigy 2 EX platinum for a laptop with firewire or usb 2.0.

Thank you in advance for your help,

James

mitcharf

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2003
I definitely wouldn't recommend the MegaWorks THX 6.1 for your laptop, since you are correct that you won't be able to find a laptop soundcard that takes advantage of them.