Sign in with
Your question

2 80gb HDs

Last response: in Storage
April 3, 2003 3:02:24 AM

hey, i just bought a 2 maxtor 80gb HDs. My question for you all is about the jumper settings. I am a noob, so i'm hoping this will be a simple question for some of you. OK... i know that if i want to have 2 HDs that one needs to be set as "master" and that the other needs to be set as "slave" - no biggie. My question is that my jumper settings on my 2 HDs are pre-set to "CS (cable select) Enabled" I am not sure what that is and would like to know. I want to know if i should format both the HDs with that jumper setting (CS Enabled) and then after both HDs are formatted i shutdown the comp and then move the jumper for one of the HDs over to "master" and move the jumper for the other one over to "slave", or should i (after i finish reformating both HDs) keep one HD jumper cable on "CS Enabled" and change the other to "Slave"??? That is my question, i'm sorry if it isn't very clear. Also, when you have a master drive and a slave drive do you use 1 IDE cable for the both of them, or do you use 2 IDE cables (1 IDE cable for each)?? Any help or info at all would be of great help. Thanks much!!

More about : 80gb hds

April 3, 2003 5:16:30 AM

Cable select jumper setting means which connector on the IDE cable a device is attached to determines which device is master and which is slave. On the other hand, master jumper means the device will be master regardless of which connector on the cable it is attached to.

Once you've set the jumpers of the HDs, don't change them. or you'll confuse the system.
April 3, 2003 12:34:51 PM

It is always better to use Master / Slave setiings rather than cable select. For the best performance, use 1 cable for each drive and plug each drive in to a seperate IDE port on your motherboard (both drives as a master). Don't forget to use 80pin UATA133 cables though - normally only of 1 of these comes with each motherboard unless you buy a RAID model.