Win7 start time suddenly much longer.

bat123man

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2007
Hello,

I have been running Win7 64-bit for 2 years. My boot drive is an Intel SSD. Win7 used to load very quickly. It would come up with the Windows logo and quickly flick to the login screen. Boot Performance tracked in Event Viewer - Application and Services - Microsoft - Windows - Diagnostics Performance - Operational would generally report 45 seconds or so. Recently, for no reason I can yet discern, that has jumped to 218 seconds. I have looked for 101 Event IDs (application boot performance), there are a few listed, but usually with very small footprints (degradation of 300 ms). Nothing which explains the 3 additional minutes.

When the OS boot now, it comes up to the Windows splash screen, and as the 4 colours are coming together, it hangs. At first I thought there was something seriously wrong, so I restarted via the power switch, and ran Startup Repair. It ran, but boot was the same. After a few more power button restarts, thinking I had a very serious problem, I sat there stumped and..... it eventually booted! The 4 colours eventually started moving again, and the system booted. That is what I experience every time now. There is roughly a 3 min pause during the boot sequence, then it proceeds as normal.

Things I have tried :
- Updated to latest Nvidia chipset and GPU drivers.
- Have almost nothing in Startup when Running MSConfig
- Ran Intel's SSD tool. Reports everything A-OK.
- Made Boot Sequence "Hard Drive" only so it doesn't search for CD drive.
- Ran Windows Update to ensure all latest critical patches installed (for all I know, this caused it).

Any idea how I can figure out what is causing it?

Win7 64-bit
4 GB PC6400 RAM
Asus P5N-E SLI (not in SLI)
80GB Intel X-25 SSD
GTX 570