Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Windows 7 BSOD Nightmare

Last response: in Windows 7
February 24, 2010 2:38:55 PM

Hi everyone,

I am an IT professional however cannot figure out this issue on my my machine and its driving me nuts :pt1cable: 

I have Win 7 64 Ultimate on RC build 7100 and everything runs fine, however since next week the OS will expire and my machine will reset every 2 hours therefore i upgraded to the official Win 7 64 Ultimate and the bloomin machine gives me a BSOD everytime I try and install something on my secondary drives (d: e: f: )

Thought it was an AVG issues or access privilages since my other drives where formatted on other previous OS`s (c: for windows, d: for games, etc.) However it now even seemd to be doing it if I try and install stuff on C: - now I have a hunch it might be AVG FREE causing the issues, dunno, any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

More about : windows bsod nightmare

a b $ Windows 7
February 24, 2010 2:47:57 PM

When you installed official W7, did you delete the old RC partitions and recreate them from scratch, had this problem and this sorted out issue.
a b $ Windows 7
February 24, 2010 2:51:59 PM

Yeah, definitely. Trying to "upgrade" the RC with the retail is not good. It CAN be done, but it's not recommended.

Heck, I never upgrade. I always do a clean install. It's just better that way.
Related resources
February 24, 2010 3:00:41 PM

Sorry,

should had given more detail, had the RC on a OCZ Core SSD 32Gb Drive - did the fresh install on a NEW HDD (Non SSD) and removed the SSD completely. Therefore there could have been no traces of old OS since this is a new HDD completely.......
a b $ Windows 7
February 24, 2010 3:10:39 PM

Sounds more like a driver issue then. More times than not, when a system BSODs a lot, there's usually a driver or device issue going on. Have you downloaded all applicable device drivers straight from the manufacturers of your devices, including the motherboard?