Sign in with
Your question

Gaming+Recording<$200US

Last response: in Components
April 9, 2003 1:29:25 AM

I can spend up to around $200US on a new sound card. I want to know what is the best sound card in this price range for a gamer who wants 3D sound, and to plug in my guitar and make multi-track recordings.

I have an Athlon XP1800+
Abit KR7A 133 DDR
2x256M sticks of Crucial PC2100
etc... etc...
Klipsch ProMedia 4.1 speakers that break leases and windows and kill small animals. They really are silly-loud. I don't care about the center channel, I'm happy with high-quality quadriphonic.

BTW, I have a bachelor's in music and a discerning ear. I'll want to plug in my 4-track, so connectivity is also a priority. And don't forget compatiblilty with all the games I play (too numerous to list). But first and foremost PRICE! Maximum $200US.

Any thoughts? Opinions?

-Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

More about : gaming recording 200us

April 9, 2003 2:15:55 AM

M-Audio Revolution 7.1 with 24bit/192KHz. USD$99 retail. Does this good enough?
And, I like your signature a lot :) 

You never know how stupid you are until you have done something stupid enough for you to realize it.
<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=22996" target="_new">My System Rig</A>
April 9, 2003 7:51:03 AM

Umm, no. The Revolution is a good card for playback purposes but NOT for recording stuff.
Related resources
April 9, 2003 8:21:38 AM

I am thinking about getting M-Audio Revolution. Can you tell me why it is not good for recording? Thanks.
April 9, 2003 6:23:42 PM

I would recommend something by Terratec, if you need good recording quality. Their DMX XFire is a very nice card, as is their Aureon series. However, you're going to pay for the quality and performance. The XFire goes for about $130, while the Aureon's go as high as $200+ or so.

<A HREF="http://www.terratec.com" target="_new">http://www.terratec.com&lt;/A>