Stargazer_SG1

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2003
For audio playback, mainly, and then for recording.

I don't care about games too much (i have a spare turtle beatch i can use for those), but i need the best possible audio quality for music playback (and i mean best), and also a good all around recording capability.

I'm willing to spend quite a lot (from 300$ to possibly 500$) to achive what i need, so suggest away.

For music, i generally use headphones, but i'm also considering speakers.

Now, i've had some experience with an Adiophile 2496 (in case your wondering, the card in not mine), and i must say the sound quality is extraordinary, but lacks clarity. The sound it's muffled, great for rock music but somewhat disappointing for classical.

Of course, i'm using the card directly without pre-amp, so the volume isn't too hot either (i even made a thread about it).

I'm using software amplification throught winamp plugins, but i'm quite unhappy with it, i generally prefer natural sound over DSP (sp?) effects and such, albiet the card handles it quite well.

I just need a professional audiocard that plays music professionally without the aid of home studio equipment, very simple.

Recording i will need but right now my playing is uggly enought i don't want to even remember it, let alone record it :), so i can save the expense of a pre-amp and any other device for later...

kobe8

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2003
I am hearing good stuff about the DMX 6fire. It has much better music/recording performance than the Audigy 2 Platinum. It also has shitty D3D performance :p

marshahu

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2003