Yes, if you remove the notification the OS will still expire.
As of Monday it will shut itself down every two hours. You won't be warned and it won't save anything you were working on.
In June it will not be operable any more, though you will be able to retrieve your data from the drive.
The solution is to get a crowbar, pry open your wallet, and buy a real license.