Creating a PC Video Editing Station

AdmiralEpoch

Distinguished
May 2, 2003
I'm a film/video student who's never used anything for editing other than the macs they supply at school. Now that I want to set up my own personal station, I figured it would be cheaper to modify my PC rather than to buy a brand new dual gig mac.

I suppose my question here isn't limited to just the video card, but if anyone has any knowledge on this, what should I be looking into getting to start editing my own videos on my PC? (all peripherals included if you can :))

elzt

Distinguished
May 10, 2002
In the order of importance, I think you should consider the following components and peripherals:

CPU - The faster, the better, I would say at least 1.8 GHz speed. You'll be doing a lot of rendering/conversion, and so the CPU speed really matters here.

Hard Drive - The faster and bigger, the better. It should have a speed of at least 5400RPM. As for the size of HD, it depends on how much stuff you want to store. But just remember 60 minutes of uncompressed video file needs about 11GB of disk space. Some pros also suggest using a separate HD for videos and scratch work.

RAM - 512M to 1GB should be sufficient. RD, DDR or SD type? It doesn't matter, you won't see much difference.

IEEE1394 port - (or called Firwire by Macintosh or iLink by Sony) A must for DV camcorder users. It's for transferring digital videos between the camcorder and PC.

Graphics Card - Any decent one would do. Since you're not doing games, there's no need to go for a top-end-super-fast 3D vid card. You may consider one with vivo (video-in & video-out) feature. This would save you $ less a dedicated capture card which is useful if you want to capture analog videos, say from VHS tapes.

CD or DVD Burners - Needed if you want to put your masterpiece on VCD's or DVD's.

Monitors - Serious users would only consider CRT monitors as they are better than LCD's in many respects.