Worth upgrading to Audigy 2?

auldar

Distinguished
May 19, 2003
Greetings Audio Guru's,

I'm a newbie here, so go easy on me.. :) I'm not stupid, just starting my research :p

I'm currently in the process of spec'ing out a new system/upgrade that I'll be looking to buy in the next couple of months (hoping for a few more price drops in the meantime).

In the sound department, I've currently got an old analog Sound Blaster Live sound card, with an old set of Cambridge 4.1 speakers. AFAIK, they're the first 4.1 speakers that were released by Cambridge, even before they were acquired by Creative (I think) - I bought them in 1999 and as such, I have no idea what their marketing name was.

Now, I use my PC 95% of the time for gaming. Throw in a bit of Divx/DVD watching to make up the other 5%. I do have a set-top DVD player as well, which is connected only to a Stereo Amp upstairs (I make note of this since I could conceivably move my new speakers around as required).

I'm not an audio-phile who get's majorly disappointed by the quality of MP3s vs CD audio, although I do prefer to listen to 192bps encoded versions than to 128bps versions. I can certainly hear the difference between DVD audio, and Divx/mp3 encoded audio of the same track.

Now to the point of my post..

In your opinions, would there be any significant difference in my audio experience if I upgraded to an Audigy 2, and upgraded my speakers?

If you <b>do</b> think there's a difference, which speakers would you recommend?

Creative Inspire 6600 6.1 speakers (AUS$245)
Altec Lansing 5100 (AUS$342)
Logitech Z-680 (AUS$650)
Creative Inspire 5700 5.1 Speakers (AUS$674)
Creative Megaworks 550 5.1 (~AUS$690).

From my research, it sounds like the Inspire 6600 (or 6700 when they become available here in Australia) might underperform/be underpowered for the Audigy 2..