Need help with disk partitioning

skitsofrenic

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2010
I used to have only 1 partition to do everything with. I'm reinstalling windows 7, and I would like to take this chance to partition my drives the correct way to help the computer run faster and waste less memory.

I browsed through multiple articles on disk partitioning but I just can't grasp the idea. I'm not too good with computers.

Would anyone be kind enough to explain/teach me how to correctly and efficiently partition my disk?

How many partitions would I need?

Solution
nope, you can put them where ever you want. I have a "Games" folder on my data drive I install all my games and game related programs in. when you do the install windows makes an entry in the registry that tells itself and any other program that needs to know where you installed it. So you can just make a programs folder on D or you can do a games one or organize however you want.
partitioning does not make the computer run faster or use less memory. there is no reason for an average user to partition their drive.

if you wish.to partition your drive the standard practice is to have an OS partition around 60-100GB with windows/drivers/basic programs. and a data partition where you keep your files and install large programs. the reason for this is you can use free image software to back up the smaller OS partition, and if you need to restore or reinstall windows you dont have to worry about pulling a massive amount of data off the OS partition before doing so.

daglesj

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2007
Well shortstroking can help.

If you have a 1TB drive and run a HDTune benchmark on it you'll find that at the start of the drive you'll get say 100MBps performance and this will continue to around 50% of the drive. After that performance drops till you get to the end of the drive whereby it will have dropped to say 60MBps.