Tom's Hardware > Forum > Laptops & Notebooks > General Laptops & Notebooks > Does anyone know if this website is a scam?

Does anyone know if this website is a scam?

Forum Laptops & Notebooks : General Laptops & Notebooks - Does anyone know if this website is a scam?

Tom's Hardware: Over 1.4 million members in 6 different countries available to answer all your high-tech questions. Sign up now! Its free!
Word :    Username :           
 

www.shop-pad.com


it has like Alienware (3.8ghz p4, 2gb ddr2 ram, geforce go 6800) laptops for like $1600 and im just seeing if any of you know if its a scam maybe?

Sponsored Links
Register or log in to remove.
- 0 +

edit the comma out from your link, it will work better.
I breifly checked the site, no red flags jumped out at me.

Reply to RichPLS
- 0 +

The guy lives in the UK, has a yahoo email and only accepts bank transfers, any advice? i see these things as signs of scams on alienware laptops on ebay all the time, idk...

Reply to womp
- 0 +

RED FLAG RED FLAG
Money transfers out of the country raise a red flag everytime.


Netcraft:
----------------------------------------
Linux Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) DAV/1.0.3 mod_fastcgi/2.4.2 mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a PHP/4.3.10 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7e 22-Dec-2005 64.111.117.193 New Dream Network, LLC
----------------------------------------

Arin on 64.111.117.193:
----------------------------------------
OrgName: New Dream Network, LLC
OrgID: NDN
Address: 5610 S. Soto St.
City: Huntington Park
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90255
Country: US
NetRange: 64.111.96.0 - 64.111.127.255
CIDR: 64.111.96.0/19
NetName: DREAMHOST-BLK4
NetHandle: NET-64-111-96-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.DREAMHOST.COM
NameServer: NS2.DREAMHOST.COM
NameServer: NS3.DREAMHOST.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-03-07
Updated: 2005-09-29
OrgAbuseHandle: DAT5-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: DreamHost Abuse Team
OrgAbusePhone: +1-323-583-7991
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@dreamhost.com
OrgTechHandle: ZD69-ARIN
OrgTechName: Network Operations
OrgTechPhone: +1-323-583-7991
OrgTechEmail: netops@dreamhost.com
----------------------------------------

Internic:
----------------------------------------
Domain Name: SHOP-PAD.COM
Registrar: NEW DREAM NETWORK, LLC
Whois Server: whois.dreamhost.com
Referral URL: http://www.dreamhost.com
Name Server: NS1.DREAMHOST.COM
Name Server: NS2.DREAMHOST.COM
Name Server: NS3.DREAMHOST.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 14-nov-2005
Creation Date: 14-nov-2005
Expiration Date: 14-nov-2006
----------------------------------------

Reply to t1n0m3n

if they only accept money transfer/wire it is usually a scam. Especially if its out of the country!

Reply to brookman
Tom's Hardware > Forum > Laptops & Notebooks > General Laptops & Notebooks > Does anyone know if this website is a scam?
Go to:

There are 459 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

Please mind

You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months.
If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.

Add a reply Cancel
Sponsored links
  • Ask the community now
  • Publish
Ad
They won a badge
Join us in greeting them